Derek Cruz

Director of Educational Support Services

Michelle Roberto

District Service Specialist

Educational Support Services
SOCIAL EMOTIONAL SERVICES
Social Emotional Support Services

Washington Unified believes social emotional support is crucial for academic and personal success. Social emotional support services provide students with skills needed in the classroom, in the community, and at home. Our hope is for all students to acquire the skills to recognize and manage emotions, develop caring and concern for others, establish positive relationships, make responsible decisions, and handle challenging situations effectively.

Families may need assistance when a loved one is struggling with social, emotional, and/or behavioral issues. It can be physically and emotionally trying, and can make us feel vulnerable to the opinions and judgments of others.

If you think your child may need support with a
social, emotional, and/or behavioral problem,
it is important to remember that there is hope and help.

Grief Support for Youth

When coping and dealing with a sudden loss, children experience grief in different ways at differentstages in their development.
If you don’t know what to expect, their emotions and behaviors may beconcerning. While this guide can help you navigate some typical reactions, if you have any concerns,please reach out to a mental health or medical professional.

Grief Support Guide

The California Parent and Youth Helpline

The California Parent and Youth Helpline provides support and resource referrals to parent and youth during the current COVID-19 pandemic, 7-days a week from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.  Call or text 1-855-4APARENT (855-427-2736) for services in English, Spanish and other languages.  For more information, please visit: https://caparentyouthhelpline.org/.

Social-Emotional Services Guide

Social-Emotional Health Resources Related to COVID-19

SCHOOL SITE CONTACTS

American
Union

Monica Chaisson
School Psychologist
mchaisson@fcoe.org
(559) 495-5650

Mary Xiong
Guidance Learning Specialist
myxiong@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5650

West Fresno
Elementary

Karina Sanchez
School Psychologist
karina.sanchez@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5615

Joanna Rios-Cruz
School Psychologist
joanna.cruz@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5615

Crystal Avila
Social Worker
cavila@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5615

West Fresno
Middle

Valerie Woodward
School Psychologist
vwoodward@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5607

Neda Musleh
Guidance Learning Specialist
nmusleh@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5607

Crystal Avila
Social Worker
cavila@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5615

Washington Union

Holly Northcross
School Psychologist
hnorthcross@fcoe.org
(559) 495-5680

Erika Ohanis
Guidance Learning Specialist
erika.ohanis@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5680

Larry Chang
Guidance Learning Specialist
larry.chang@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5680

Mike Toste
Guidance Learning Specialist
mike.toste@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5680

Priscilla Villalobos
Guidance Learning Specialist
pvillalobos@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5680

Alternative Education

Holly Northcross
School Psychologist
hnorthcross@fcoe.org
(559) 495-5680

Grant Thor
Principal
gthor@wusd.ws
(559) 495-5680

COMMUNITY RESOURCES